Habas (Fried Fava Beans)

19 Apr

When I visit my family in Cololmbia, one of my favorite street foods to eat is Habas.

Fried and Salted Fava Beans. Photo: MGomez

They are easy to prepare, and truly delicious.

Ingredients

1.5 lb fava beans, shelled and peeled
1/2 cup vegetable oil
salt
Directions
Warm the oil in a medium sauce pan on medium-high heat. Carefully drop the fava beans into the sauce pan, and let them fry on each side for 4 minutes. Serve with an ice cold beverage.
3 Responses to “Habas (Fried Fava Beans)”

  1. Janis April 19, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    I wonder, do you peel them before you fry them in oil? I’ve been cooking them briefly to soften the peel, but I would really love to skip that step if I am able! Thank you!

    • fairviewgardenscsa April 20, 2010 at 11:22 am #

      I’ve met people that eat young fava beans without peeling their skins, but I prefer to go through this extra step. I recommend that you try cooking the fava beans with the skins on, and then tasting them to see if you like them. I don’t really like the taste.

  2. Janis April 21, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    Ah! Yes, I have tried them without peeling (not as good!) but I thought maybe the oil would make the skins taste better. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

