Sneak Peek has arrived

12 Oct

This week’s Sneak Peek:

Onions, apples,  zucchini/squash,  carrots, lettuce, turnips, tomatoes, and garlic.

Turnip Recipes

Roasted Turnips

Put aside all your prejudices about what a turnip should taste like, and try this recipe. The turnips we grow at Fairview Gardens are creamy, mild, and perfect additions to fall meals. These instructions bring out the flavor of the turnip, so you deviate frm there, and follow one of the other recipes below. But for starters, here is the recipe: Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Wash turnips and chop into chunks. Toss with salt and pepper, and butter or olive oil until coated. Bake for 30 minutes.

Braised Turnip Greens with Turnips and Apples

Braised Turnips with Poppy seed Bread crumbs

Japanese Turnips with Miso

See you this afternoon,

Melissa

2 Responses to “Sneak Peek has arrived”

  1. Kristin Anderson October 12, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    We ate turnips tonight with dinner and got a simple recipe from one of the lovely folks at Fairview. We simply washed and quartered the root part of the vegetable, doused it with olive oil, minced garlic and salt and placed it on a cookie sheet at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. They were refreshing and flavorful.

    I’m loving my CSA.

  2. Ashley Haug October 12, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    I also wanted to use the turnips we received, so I looked online for recipes and I found one I liked: Sweet Potato and Turnip Gratin.
    http://recipes.prevention.com/Recipe/TwoPotatoandTurnipGratin.aspx
    I only had sweet potatoes, so I did not add in another potato, and I used 3 turnips. It was healthy and delicious and I will definitely make it again. It does take some time to make it, so start it first and the make the other dishes on your menu.

    I probably would have never thought to buy turnips, so thank you for opening my eyes to new possibilities!

Leave a Reply

